My Understanding of Happiness

And how I gained perspective from running

Chrissy
ILLUMINATION

--

Most of the summer in 2019 I spent contemplating what it meant to be happy. All the other previous summers weren’t as introspective. For this reason I can say summer of 2019 was one of the best and most memorable summers I have ever had.

It all began when I started getting into running. Let’s rewind back to October of 2018. My sister spontaneously signed me up for the DC Wonder Woman 5k run. She didn’t bother asking me if I was interested in running or if I was even capable of finishing 3.1 miles. She simply told me we were going to run together and I didn’t even get to think twice about it.

Keep in mind,

I was not a runner. I dreaded running the mile in PE in both middle and high school. I didn’t play any sports and I wasn’t very athletic. If I struggled running one mile in PE, how did I think I was going to complete 3.1 miles? I can recall walking many of my miles in middle school and receiving the slowest time because many of my peers chose to run.

I was surprised to find out that I had to complete the 5k race within the 1 ½ hour time limit. If I walked a mile in around 20–25 minutes then I would be able to finish the race on time, but that would be cutting it very close.

--

--

Chrissy
ILLUMINATION

Jogging through life with thoughts, questions, and ideas.