My Unforgettable Trip to Bali

Changwon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJan 11, 2021
Photo by Changwon C.

Indonesia is a fascinating place. Bali is located in the westernmost parts of Indonesia near Sunda Islands. Bali is known as a beautiful island on the East of Java and the major tourist destination of Indonesia. Since the 1980s, a surge in the number of tourists gave rise to tourism businesses in Bali that earn 80% of the economy. Since Bali is a province of Hindu majority, the place has a great culture and is renowned for arts, modern dance, painting, sculpture, and of course, the beaches.

In this post, I am highly excited about sharing my amazing tips and experiences to help you enjoy an unforgettable trip to Bali, Indonesia. Before getting into the nitty-gritty of how I faced challenges to reach Bali and what enchanted me to become a life-long fan of Bali, let us explore a few details about this incredible place.

Climate and Ecology of Bali

What inspired me to travel to Bali this holiday season is its fantastic climate, beautiful tourist attractions, and delicious foods. Bali has a clear climate almost all around the year. The average temperature rises no more than 30 °C and falls no more than 20°C.

Bali has a wide variety of birds and wildlife. Fauna being my favorite. Asian birds are more commonly found in Java. What motivated me to travel to Bali is to explore 280 species of birds including barn swallow, black treepie, long-tail shrike, and sea eagle. Bali is also the home of several mammals like Bali leopards and tigers. I have heard that Bali tiger is extinct in Java; however, I might get a surprise if I roam deeper into the forests.

Photo by Geio Tischler on Unsplash

Environment and Religion

Let me first speak of what type of people you can mingle with in Bali. As you already know, Indonesia has a majority of 83% Muslim population; this Islamic country is unique and friendly for foreign tourists and adventurers. Only 2.5% Christians and 0.5% Buddhists also live in Bali.

In 2017, more than 5.7 million tourists visited Bali. If you come from under-developed countries, don’t think of bringing plastic bags because the country has strict rules against plastic pollution. The overall government policies are tourism-friendly. But the best attractions are coming ahead for you, if you have an empty stomach, then save yourself some hunger because Bali is going to offer you some special foods for dinner and breakfast.

The Hard Time I Faced to Reach Bali, But Finally Here!

Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, a lot of flights were canceled. Therefore, I decided to choose an airport where I felt I could safely get to Bali. After research and discussions, I decided on Vienna where my family was and we started at 12.25 am and reached the airport at 3 (AM). I read about many new quarantine regulations on social media regarding foreign entrants. I was lucky that I was allowed to travel on to Bali.

We arrived at the airport and presented our documents (PCR test, business visas, etc). First I flew with KLM to Amsterdam, then from Amsterdam to Jakarta to Denpasar. The flight was very pleasant. In Amsterdam, I had exactly 2 hours for the transfer. It took me about 30 minutes to get through immigration.

At Jakarta there were several checks and controls such as ehacs. My visa agency printed this form for me that I filled out. I had to complete my controls with the PCR test, fever measurements and blood pressure measurements. Then had to go through another control in Immigration. Thankfully I finally received my e-visa and got even more excited.

Must-Try Traditional Dishes in Bali

Let me tell you that Bali is an eye-opening cultural adventure. No matter what foods you love to eat on a holiday vacation or business trip, there are the best local foods in Bali to entertain you. Here are some of my top-favorite Bali must-try foods for you to eat.

1. Bali Guling

Guling is the most iconic local dish that is served with rice, pork, and sausage. Guling is one dish you must try that is cooked to perfection. It takes a few hours to perfectly roast the dish; however, the eastern spicy flavor is out of this world experience.

2. Nasi Campur

Nasi Campur in Indonesia is another name for mixed rice; another one of my top-rated choices for filling my empty stomach. A delicious Nasi Campur is loved by tourists better than a grilled chicken.

3. Sate Lilit Ikan

We have all heard the name grilled meat before. Yes, Bali has it all when it comes to fulfilling your desire to eat delicious Southeast Asian grilled meat. The meat is spicy and grilled over charcoal. It is both sweet and spicy; I must say you will crave for more like I did.

Now let’s get straight to why I think Bali is a heaven on earth and how I plan to spend the next few weeks there? I’m not a local guide or expert, but I can give you a good idea of places and things not to miss.

My Guide to Bali

Wondering where to go in Bali if you haven’t been there?

1. Rapture Surf Camp

This is an activity that I would always do repeatedly when I visit Bali. It is the most exciting thing you can do with your friends and family. If you stay in Bali for three weeks, then surf camp is a must-do in your list to enjoy the blue ocean water adventure.

Seeing the stunning waters, I enjoy learning new tricks of surfing as well. I significantly aim to learn new surfing skills and improve. So, if I get a chance to surf in India or Australia, I would feel more confident and less anxious. I believe taking surfing lessons is vital for beginners to dive safely into raging waters.

If you are a woman, then L*Space bikini is the best brand to wear while surfing in Bali. The product is available almost anywhere online on Amazon, Zappos, and Nordstrom.

2. Uluwatu Beach

I did some research on beaches. I have never been to Uluwato beach down by Bali cliff. The beach is not great for surfing due to large waves; therefore, no casual surfing or swimming is preferred here. However, Dreamland Beach is also near where you can spend some money to enjoy the outing. They only charge some money because they have to pay lifeguards and keep beaches clean.

At Uluwato, swimming isn’t much of an option. So, forget about surfing and eat delicious food. For me, the desirable lunch would be at Edge Bar.

Photo by Jernej Graj on Unsplash

3. Sightseeing

Similar to beaches, visiting Uluwato Temple is also not free to visit. You pay separate for bringing kids, but going inside the temple can justify your spending money. You can also visit Canggu where rich people become barefoot hippies. A lot of bloggers and vloggers love Canggu.

The best things to do at Canggu are surfing and yoga. You can find cafes everywhere around. Lots of yoga places are here for meditation junkies. In Canggu, you can eat at a number of places such as:

  • Sprout: For eating the best bowl of smoothies
  • Old Man’s: To enjoy beach shack food and party a lot here
  • Milk and Madu: You can enjoy chicken sandwich and brunch food here.

If you like shopping, then shopping in Canggu is nice. There are two major shopping streets here. You can buy lovely shoes at Wanderlust; my wife loves clothes and I like buying tee shirts. You can find great floral dresses at Auguste the Label. If you want cheaper items like key chains and jewelry then you need to go to the other side of the road.

However, I recommend going to Original Surf Outlet (OSO) for buying the most expensive outfits (if they match your needs and suit your pocket). There are many well-known and integral-famous stores here.

Shopping in Ubud may also attract your attention because a lot of people love this market. You may not find treasures here. My wife looked on the Internet and planned to buy a leather bag from Ubud market called Etnika.

I love to order Brazilian Aussie BBQ and chicken tacos. Smokehouse BBQ offers great ribs and milkshakes.

Nightlife in Bali

There are a lot of lovely places to party in Bali if you plan to experience the nightlife. For nightlife fun, the best place is a beach club like Potato head and KuDeTa. You should also take some time to go to Bali’s pool villa that the province is famous for. I really like this idea myself.

Adventures in Bali

In Bali, adventure is everywhere! However, what I recommend to many tourists is the surfing activity. Water rafting and diving are also popular activities of tourists. However, in the rainy season, I have heard that only the crazy people do rafting in Bali. If you choose to do it anyway, do it at your own risk.

Moving Around in Bali

Last but not the least, getting around Bali cannot be easy unless you use Uber; but hiring local drivers is also beneficial to those who hate Uber. Using Uber is also not allowed when you go to Canggu and Ubud. You can take cabs with a sane meter. Avoid hotel taxis because they are costly options.

So now, if you have any doubts about visiting Bali, then ask someone who has already been there and you will yearn to take the next plane to Bali.

--

--

Changwon
ILLUMINATION

🇦🇹🇰🇷 Korean Austrian | Hamburger SV Fan | SEO/Affiliate-Marketer & E-Commerce | Pet Lover