POETRY

My Unmourned Diary

My attempt at a cinquain poetic form

Josh Balerite Acol
Published in
1 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

My unmourned diary
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Pages,
carry whispers
from deep within my heart,
where my unspoken love lingers
and hides.

Here’s a snazzy poetic form called Cinquain which comes from the Latin root word for “five”. It is invented by an American poet, Adelaide Crapsey, who was inspired by Japanese haiku and tanka forms.

This is a five-line poetic form, composed of:

1. two syllables in the first line (2)

2. four syllables in the second line (4)

3. six syllables in the third line (6)

4. eighth syllables in the fourth line (8)

5. two syllables in the fifth line (2)

I am thrilled to share this with you, and I hope you enjoy writing as much as I do.

You may also aim to write other poetic forms like the ones hereunder:

--

--

Josh Balerite Acol
ILLUMINATION

Writer|Editor|Mom-Dad of 4|Loves all things inspiring! Feel the love and fun. Support my writings — join now! https://joshbaleriteacol.medium.com/subscribe