National Poetry Month Day 8

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readApr 9, 2024

--

I know I skipped a few days. I’ll write in retrospect!

Image credit to Adonis Richards on Medium

Silence is golden

My mouth was full of words,

Screaming to be heard

Not knowing how golden silence was

I would try to be seen hoping someone would notice me

Wishing that someone taught me that I had nothing to prove

Now I cannot help but hide tears

Thinking leers linger losing my psyche in this demeanor of trying to be revered by those who hold no weight in my life

That’s why every poem feels like I’m losing life from my lung cavities

Screaming to be heard

All because no one ever heard me yet everyone wanted to know what I would think

Not knowing your worth puts you in places where you cannot reimburse your time

Here I am lying to myself not fulfilling myself in this pursuit of happiness I’m happiless because I’m cleaning up every mess when I have a spill of my own

The lessons I wish I knew. I have nothing to prove to anyone.

Follow my website: Lucidvoices.org

--

--

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION

Writer and poet aspiring to write and create content. Website: adonisinquiry.com