Need Writing Motivation? These 3 Quotes Are Sure to Give You Some

Unexpected observations about writers and writing from David Sedaris, Malcolm Gladwell and Neil deGrasse Tyson

Dani Mini
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

My bargain purchase of 2020 was a MasterClass subscription. I actually purchased it in December 2019 when I came across an offer for two yearly subscriptions for $85 dollars each. I kept one for myself and gave the other to a dear friend.

DISCLAIMER: I’m in no way associated with MasterClass!

I’ve listened to over fifteen MasterClasses, on subjects as varied as economics, cooking, US presidents, negotiating, and, of course, writing.

Here, I’ll share with you three great quotes that have done wonders for my motivation to write.

Writing makes the bad a bit less bad.

“You’re so privileged to be a writer. Normal people, something bad happens to them and there’s nothing they can do with it except feel bad, or complain, or press charges.” David Sedaris

These are the first two sentences out of David Sedaris’s mouth in his introduction to his Masterclass…

--

--

Dani Mini
ILLUMINATION

Dani is a special education advocate and writer of anything worth pondering, from autism to Botox.