Niagara’s Native Beginnings: A Brief History of Niagara Falls

How the Neutral Indians and Other First Nations People Shaped the Region

Cathy Lee Taylor
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Jason Grant on Unsplash

The wisdom of aging prioritizes what is most important to us.

I was born in Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada, in 1956.

Sixty years later, I am consumed with knowing more about this city’s native indigenous population.

Why? Because history doesn’t stay behind us.

History is not just a collection of facts and dates. It is a story of triumphs, failures, hopes, and dreams.

Events from our past have a lasting impact on our present.

Studying history helps us understand the communal causes and consequences of certain events, the motivations of people, and the forces that shape our world.

This knowledge allows us to stop repeating the same mistakes and make better choices to shape our future.

And so I return to my birthplace to sate my curiosity. What follows is a brief look at the history of Niagara’s beginnings.

The Portage Road

Portage Road was where my mother spent her last years of life. I have often wondered about the origins of this street’s name.

--

--

Cathy Lee Taylor
ILLUMINATION

Obsessed with transformation and living in the now. Help people realize their highest potential.