Add this ‘No AI Badge’ to Your Stories to Tell Readers You Are a Human Writer

How to let your reader know you don’t use an AI text generator

Katharine Valentino
ILLUMINATION

--

‘No AI Badge’ created by author (A smaller badge you can use in your stories is below.)

By now, you must have read about Medium’s new Partner Program policy prohibiting the use of AI text generators.

I’m in favor of the new policy. I think few people want to read writing that was fed into the maw of a thoughtless, heartless automaton and then vomited out all over a Medium story.

“How about those words, ‘automaton,’ ‘vomited’ and such?” I ask my reader. “Do these words express my thoughtful and heartfelt human self sufficiently to convince you that I’m a real, live writer?”

“Maybe,” my reader replies, “but I hear that AI is getting pretty good at sounding human. So, if you did use AI, how would I know?”

Here’s how:

To tell your reader you are a real writer, copy the badge above along with the caption and add it to your stories. (Note: After copying, the image caption becomes normal text, so you need to cut and paste it back into your caption — you’ll see what I mean when you use the badge.)

Hey, please let me know in a comment that you’ll be using the badge.

Katharine Valentino 2024
Get an email when I publish

--

--

Katharine Valentino
ILLUMINATION

Still trying for the words to help us do & feel good things. Owner of Reviews for Medium Featured Books. I write life stories & about politics / social issues.