Personal Perspectives for a Healthy Debate

No Boosted Stories So Far for Me, and Here’s Why I No Longer Care About It

I share my honest and informed perspectives after observing this exaggerated program and its subjective management over several months.

Mike Broadly, DHSc
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Photo by Bich Tran from Pexels

To be clear upfront, I am not against the boost program itself. In fact, I like the idea of amplifying good stories and making this platform a better place for all of us. Medium being the final decision maker is also a good thing like done in peer-reviewed journals, but my observations and interactions with writers and editors show that the implementation of this great idea is far from optimal most likely due to lack of transparency.

Therefore, I decided to write this piece to brainstorm some ideas, and I hope the caring Medium manager sees and considers collective feedback. This is not a criticism but personal feedback on what I have learned so far based on my observations to create a healthy debate. I hope this story can validate my findings so far.

As an editor, I enjoy supporting great writers who contribute to my publication and the ones I volunteer as an editor. I help them to increase the boost chance by having their stories reviewed by…

--

--

Mike Broadly, DHSc
ILLUMINATION

Retired health scientist in his mid 70s, avid reader, writer, chief editor of Health & Science, part of ILLUMINATION. Info: https://medium.com/p/28cc629772ab