No Is a Gift

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Image credit to image4you on pixabay

As a recovering people pleaser and someone who is constantly trying to be everything for everybody because my abandonment issues won't let me breathe and try to help everyone, I’ve learned the power of no.

It’s a gift.

For everyone.

Pardon the run-on sentence.

No is so much better. Learning in my now 29 years of life that I’m not a bad person for putting myself first and having boundaries is an uphill battle. However, that mountain top feels so good with the sun shining on my face. Learning the power of no and how much of a gift it is has saved me a lot of trouble, disappointment, and strife as of late.

This is especially prominent in my life right now. Mainly because I feel so exhausted from helping others and always saying yes. I’ve struggled with saying no because I felt guilty for saying it. This is because I had serious issues with Inadequacy and felt like my value came from someone needing me.

I recently realized that that all comes from an extrinsic desire to be valued. Which in truth, is an empty need to find happiness and worth. There was. no fulfillment. Just the next task.

I was drained

I was at war with myself trying to make peace with the world. Struggling with one-sided friendships. Falling to the wayside…

--

--

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION

Writer and poet aspiring to write and create content. Website: adonisinquiry.com