No One Seems To Be Reading My Wattpad Book: Except Me, Myself and I.

SheeWrites.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2024

I'm currently both the author and reader of my book.

Photo by Elena Rabkina on Unsplash

Obviously this is no one’s fault. It only implies that my book hasn’t yet attracted it’s audience. Which is ok, for now. Because the book is a work-in-progress. Which by the way; I update every single week. With two new chapters!

You know...I once heard that we are only in control of our work before we release it to the world. After that, we can only hope that it’s received with the same love we had making it.

Just like how friendships, romantic relationships and business partnerships work; trust has to be established first so as to act as the foundation on which the above rests on.

This same logic applies in the writing industry: the writer has to put out tonnes of loads of their work to their chosen market, before his/her potential readers gets familiar with the nature of their work. By trying it on like outfits to gage if it fits them or not.

Then... if all goes well, the readers commit to the writer’s work and just can’t resist coming back for more.

The trick is to stick it out till the inevitable magic starts happening. But, make no mistake: patience is no walk in the park. Trust me, I’d know: otherwise I wouldn’t be here speaking on the same. Would I?

I hate to throw my younger sister under the bus, but the truth is, she hasn’t yet read my book. Actually I don’t think she ever will. Not because she thinks I’m a terrible writer but because she’s not a fan of books or reading. So I get her. Allowing me to also do the same with others like herself.

With all that to suck up my throat...I’m actually glad I have my full support and validation to keep me afloat in this tough times_no support at all_which by the way, every author I’ve studied has withered in their career. But not without a few scratches here and there.

In that perspective, now just happens to be my turn. And my how-bad-do-you-want-this is being tested. Which I certainly don’t intend to fail.

The Wattpad book I’m writing, is a memoir about how I ended up being estranged from my mother, how I became a blogger, had an aspiration to be an author and lastly but more juicy, how I was still a maiden at twenty three.

Verified Dilemmas; is the title for the book.

If you wish or are curious or are interested in reading the memoir, find it exclusively here.

Enjoy!!

--

--

SheeWrites.
ILLUMINATION

Hey 👋 there & welcome!! I mostly pen down Personal essays, Poems & Memoirs wrapped up with traces of humor, sadness, and wtf moments.