No, You Are Not The Only One!

Many writers ask why stats declined substantially. I reflect upon my perspective.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 23, 2020

--

You Are Not The Only One! Many writers ask why stats declined substantially. I reflect upon my perspective, Dr Mehmet Yildiz
Photo by Atharva Tulsi on Unsplash

During the last two weeks, I received many email inquiries on declining stats by the concerned writers. The examples provided by writers differ, but the most common question is “what happened to my stats and why”.

Like many of these writers, I noticed a decline in my stats too. The most significant adverse impact on my stats was reduced reading time. I caught a typical pattern from my stats.

To test my hypothesis, I checked the specific type of stories which attract the most views, reading times, and substantial engagement. They are my leadership articles followed and enjoyed by many readers.

My leadership articles used to average around two minutes of reading time. However, the latest story in this topic published within the last two weeks, even though it had considerable engagement rate such as 3,3K claps and 30 comments, shows only 34 seconds of average reading time. This reflects an unusual average reading time for me.

Considering the engagement on this particular story, the decline in reading times concerns me because it does not align with my history and does not seem to reflect the reality. I sensed something wrong with stats.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com