Noam Chomsky: My Unlikely Spiritual Guru

How Chomsky’s theory of language shook up my understanding of thoughts and consciousness

Poornima Verghese-Ram
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

Controversial Linguist

Noam Chomsky, the Laureate Professor of Linguistics at the University of Arizona and an Institute Professor Emeritus at MIT, is something of an iconoclast.

A controversial yet respected member of the linguistic intelligentsia, Prof. Chomsky has amassed critics and supporters alike, but none to dispute his brilliance in the field.

His scientific work transformed the landscape of linguistics, and with no alternative theories to refute his influential and original ideas, Prof. Chomsky’s theory of language has staked its prominence in the field simply by its sheer presence.

If there were a list of the top intelligent people of our times, he is certain to score a spot.

With such lofty laurels, Prof. Chomsky sure flabbergasts me silly, not with his complex ideas that clearly fly a mile over my head, but with his by-the-by sort of supplementary observations.

--

--

Poornima Verghese-Ram
ILLUMINATION

Wanderer in the chasm between philosophical teachings and practical living. I don’t meditate; I wrestle my thoughts with my eyes closed.