Writing

Nonsense-Writing Makes You a Better and A Different Writer

Have you ever written nonsense? No? Do it now.

Agnes Laurens
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJun 17, 2020

--

Photo by Thom Holmes on Unsplash

I wrote a nonsense poem recently, and it just came from my thumb, without even thinking about it and I didn't think about fitting the sentences together. I didn't even re-read my stuff. Because it is nonsense, and it didn’t make any sense at all and there is no clue behind the poem.

I loved doing this. It was something other than just writing about the experiences I had in my life.

With nonsense-writing, you will create new ideas to write about, as well as going out of your comfort zone.

Out of my comfort zone

With this nonsense poem, I went out of my comfort zone. Being out of your comfort zone is good for you. You experience a new challenge with yourself and you develop new skills. Or you just write about something else you never wrote about. You see where that leads to. You understand that part of writing too now.

With going out of your comfort zone, your writing will lead to something else spectacular.

--

--

Agnes Laurens
ILLUMINATION

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens