Nostalgia Untangled

A story of misjudgment.

JamieWrites
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJul 20, 2022

--

A beach from burd’s eye view.
By Alex Perez

It was quite cool when mum and dad were at work and I was on holiday from college. Mike had come round to play on the console and I was finally able to plug it into the new 55 inch screen we had in the living room, with no protests from my younger sister and the rest of them. Mike had been around a million times before but this was the first time that he’d come to mine since exams were over and we were destined to spend at least six hours taking on zombies together, united in the knowledge that my mum had left me her fast food app login so we could order a burger delivery for lunch, without leaving our zombie shooting stations, otherwise known as sofas.

It was currently my turn to go on a mission while Mike had to stay back at base and recharge. Mike was a bit restless and started wandering around the room, probably checking for anything new or things that he hadn’t noticed before. Oddly, he seemed to show an interest in the family photographs which sat on the fireplace, overlooking us. One in particular got him thinking.

“I’m sure I recognise that beach,” he said quietly.

“Huh?” Was my muffled reply. I was far too engrossed in my game.

He picked up the photo and I could see out of the corner of my eye how fascinated he seemed to be by it.

--

--

JamieWrites
ILLUMINATION

Freelance writer, author and blogger. Passionate about books, theatre and the environment. Everyone should have a healthy work-life balance so I share my tips.