Not perfect

Gristy
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2023

A poem

Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

I’m not perfect,

but I’ll give you my heart,

Flowers forever engraved in my mind.

I’m not perfect much like the broken China plate on the floor.

My heart of ice and fire thrown into chaos and stirred with love,

even the old China plate was used at some point.

If you need to know I will always chose honesty over shadows,

even in the darkest hours where sunlight bleeds through dark curtains,

I will always stand by being honest.

I’ll dive through mirky waters,

knowing those nice flowers were never meant for me,

all those little words and cute phrases bled for another.

No wonder I had a mental breakdown,

No wonder I couldn’t see past the multiple colors of the glass China plate,

those shadows you casted were your own.

Tread lightly friend,

all that space I gave you,

thrilled you,

all that time I gave you,

spent calling her name.

Wave goodbye to those old highway drives,

Wave so long to late night talkin,

Cause its my fault it ended in such a frivilous way.

I’m not perfect,

but I’m worth it like that broken China plate pleading to get sticthed back together,

Worth the time,

effort,

and kindness it takes to love someone,

Worth the wait,

even when the shrapnel is painful,

Cause it takes two to tango.

--

--