Now is a Good Time to Re-think Your Hairstyle.

Go bold or go home!

Mary Dalton Selby
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Photo by Aw Creative on Unsplash

By the time the lockdown is over, we may have added several inches in length and exposed our true hair color to the world.

You can easily go shorter, but you can’t always go longer.

My hair is driving me nuts! It is getting in my face, but it is too short for me to stick it behind my ears. I have been resorting to tacking it up with combs. Not a good look for me.

I remember my first haircut like it was yesterday. My mom never cut my hair till I was about to go to kindergarten, circa 1959. Up until that point, I always wore my long hair in a ponytail. It was cool and comfortable in the summer, but it took forever to dry.

She made an appointment to take me to Miss Francine’s shop a couple of blocks away. Miss Francine put me in her chair and quickly lopped off over a foot in length. She then heated up an old curling iron that was installed directly into the wall and heated with a gas flame. There were no temperature gauges or barrel sizes for this tool. She gently wrapped my hair around it, and I could smell my hair frying. I went home with a cute little pageboy and didn’t get a haircut for another 10 years.

So you can see, I have always had a fondness for long hair and ponytails.

So here I am in my late 60’s, and the possibility of having hair long enough to fit into a tiny ponytail is very appealing to me. The pandemic is enabling me to adopt a hairdo from my youth. Of course, I have much less hair now, but it is the idea that I could is what excites me.

There is no rush to pick that next hairdo. In most states, the lockdown is keeping us from our hairdressers for another three or four weeks. Even then, hairdressers will quickly book-up.

But for those of you that can’t wait and feel comfortable with risk, you can always go to YouTube and learn how to do it yourself. You may be pleasantly surprised at how good you are and discover you might have a new side gig.

For help, Google “Best hairstyle for me female(male).” There is a wealth of sites and videos that offer input as to the best style for your face shape. Then you can move on to hair-type, wavy, curly, straight, fine or coarse. Oh, and of course, there is the site for women over 50.

So let’s think of this as a time for renewal, a rebirth.

Let’s prepare ourselves for that day when we go to our hairdressers or barbers, and we can tell them precisely what we want. Or maybe it will be evident that they will need to correct a DIY haircut gone wrong.

My advice is to be adventurous and have fun with it!

--

--

Mary Dalton Selby
ILLUMINATION

Expert at nothing except my own life. Girlfriend. Friend. Mother. Grandmother.