Numb

Alifiya Nagree
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readJul 25, 2020

I wish it were a dream

Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

my eyes slide close
as my body becomes numb
locked in a never-ending loop,
i wish it were a dream.

palms to my ears
numbness like a shot of anesthesia,
i drift away
the voices becoming a distant echo.

strangely though
my heartbeat amplifies,
shifting into overdrive
as the voices penetrate
i break out into a sweat
the booming deep voice registering,
what did I do to deserve this pain?

you’re okay, you’re okay
an emotionless voice repeats in my head,
deep breath in and out
protect your heart and mind
don't be a fool.

my mind prepares
like a soldier preparing for war.

when in fact,
i am just a women
bounded behind ice glaciers encapsulated in steel
forming a shield around my heart,
protecting myself from words spewed as carelessly and meaningfully
as swords wielded in battle,
protecting myself from the man whose duty it was to protect me.

I wish this was a dream.

--

--

Alifiya Nagree
ILLUMINATION

Marketing Enthusiast | Rediscovering my love for writing | Wear my dreams on my feet | Travel enthusiast | Dubai | Montréal |