Numbers

a poem via a submitted prompt

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Nick Hillier on Unsplash

Numbers
governing
my every hour
today,
even time
segmented neatly
into pomodoros
marked by whether
a task list item
was scratched off,
how many words
I had written,
what statistical results
I had obtained.

Maybe that’s why
to end the day
my rebellion is to create,
void of numbers,
eyes closed to stats
and level of engagement,
not tuning into
how popular something it
but rather
focussing on what feelings
it evoked,
what stories
it told,
what lives
it may touch.

Challenge me outside of my comfort zone by dropping a poem prompt here!

Today’s prompt was from Adam Deitsch: numbers.

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.