Observations From a Family Road Trip 1

The summer I finally relented and had a family adventure on the road

E. Haut
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Josué Montoya on Unsplash

I have successfully dodged it for 10 years. I know city and suburbia; my children know mere suburbia. Driving cross country, in and out of small-town America, would be a good education for us. We drove through the Midwest with a destination of central Colorado. Every day there was something to learn. Here’s my chronicle of it.

Day 1: No road rage

Before we started on our road trip, I smugly prepared a draft of the article “Ways To Win on a Family Car Trip”, which listed alternative entertainment options for kids to keep them busy in the car. By “alternative”, I mean that kids do not have to be on a phone or tablet every hour they are in a car.

Oh, I thought I was brilliant. I was determined to win the battle against screens on a family car trip. Part of my “winning it!” ideas included giving the kids a $20 bill, letting them loose in Walmart, and having them pick out their own snacks for a week-long car trip. Still not a bad idea in my opinion, honestly, but the others…well, see for yourself. Exhibit A below shows how presumptuous I was BEFOREHAND.

--

--