Why Writing a Book is so Difficult

Three reasons I am finding it difficult to finish my book

Brad Creech
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readDec 2, 2021

--

This is a platform full of writers and readers so I don’t think I will be alone in this issue. There are bound to be other book authors reading this. I am currently working on a full-length book titled, “The Dark Night of the Soul.” The book will be an honest walk-through of Psalm 88, which is commonly referred to as “the darkest Psalm.” It had been pressing on my heart for a long time and I could not resist any longer. So here I am, an aspiring author.

I was so excited when I finished chapter one! I eagerly printed off a couple of copies and gave them to close friends. I was off to the races.

Now? Well, I am halfway through chapter two. Things have slowed down and I am now in the reality check stage. Writing a book is not for the faint of heart.

Of course, I’m not giving up. This book will be written. But I am going to be writing it with a more realistic expectation of what the process is going to be like.

There are three things I am finding especially difficult. Maybe you can relate.

A lack of time and energy

I work a full-time job and father four young children. The youngest of those children has neglected to look up…

--

--

Brad Creech
ILLUMINATION

Pastor - husband - father - author of The Dark Night of the Soul (https://a.co/d/am6tM6i)