One Of Medium’s Biggest Publications Is Closing

you’ll be surprised

Kristina God, MBA
ILLUMINATION

--

Frame vector created by freepik

As with all things in life, things change and we ride the waves.

Even though I never submitted anything to ‘The Ascent’, I was accepted as an editor and I liked consuming its articles.

A few days ago the owner and editor-in-chief surprisingly announced he’ll close his publication.

Steve Campbell had a great time. He just wanted to move on after 5 and a half long hard years of running his ‘side project’.

screenshot by Kristina God

With 100k followers, The Ascent was one of the biggest publications on Medium.

It’s not the first time big publications have closed

A few months ago P.S. I Love You already closed its doors because Medium pulled the plug on fundings. The editors chose it wasn’t worth their time to continue.

A few weeks ago, Tom Kuegler announced he’ll shut down ‘The Post Grad Survival Guide’ for all submissions.

It’s been great fun, but it’s also been exhausting.

It’s exhausting to look over story after story, give…

--

--

Kristina God, MBA
ILLUMINATION

Award-winning marketing manager I Bestselling Substack author I Copywriter⚡Join my Online Writing Club: https://kristinagod.substack.com