One of The Most Important Advice a Writer Needs to Improve

T. A. Adam
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 9, 2023

It takes few minutes to know it, but taking action is the hardest part.

Source? Izf on Istock

A lot of writers will fail!

This July is my 7th month on Medium. In my writing career, I’ve achieved some milestone that I’m passionate and grateful for; 1500+ followers on Medium and a whole total of 3100+ readers online; became a top writer on Medium; 150K+ monthly views and 2M+ monthly impressions. Gosh!

The truth is.... If all I did was just waking up:

  • Meditate
  • Write
  • Shower
  • Tea, coffee or water

To be honest, I couldn’t reach here. I had a writing strategy. I have plans. I have writing criteria whenever I want to write.

And that’s what a lot of creators miss.

You want great achievements but what you do — your routine — isn’t directed towards getting there.

And you keep blaming the algorithm, the platform, or jealous of those who climbed the mountain. You sit down and start wondering what on Earth have you did! Why the heck aren’t you improving!

Should I tell you the truth?

You have no idea about ‘Writing Pattern’ or ‘Writing Strategy’ — whatever name. You have no actual direction where you’re going.

You just write anyhow. When you like. The way you like.

Right now, if someone may ask, “What’s your strategy for becoming good at writing headlines?”

(Silence) You’d keep quiet. No answer.

“What’s your plan for becoming good at using proper images while writing?”

“I don’t know.” Would probably be your response.

“How do you organize the body of your article?”

You still may not be able to answer.

But.... There’s one question I’m sure you’d be able to answer;

“How much would you like to earn in your writing life?” I know you’d be interested in answering this. You’d start making plans on how you want to spend it and how you want to enjoy this beautiful thing ‘life’.

Not only you— 99% of writers are more likely to answer this question but not the first three.

The bitter part of it is only 1% writers are able to overcome this challenge.

I gain 1K followers on Medium with only 14 articles published and then became a top writer with only 18 total number of articles.

A lot of writers out there hardly get this outstanding growth with as little number of articles as I had. Many at times, some had to write 50–70 or more before they get get 1,000 followers. Some even 100+.

If you would accept that you’re making mistakes and that you are willing to fix it, fine. You are better than those strong-headed newbies who are not willing to change.

The Simple Truth

Launch a strategy, plan how to fight your way through it.

It may take you long time to do that. But I’ll save your time and expose the ‘behind-the-scene’ secret.

First things first, accept this truth:

You jumped into many different things.

Quotes for the power of doing one thing
Image made by the writer.

Second thing:

You are just a consumer in the world of writers. And you have to change that.

How can you change it?

Let’s start with the first.

“You jumped into many things”, and it’s true. You did not pick one angle of writing to become better at it. You fancy to write headlines, good subtitle, proper images, actionable CTAs. All that a time. Are you a robot?

What are you doing?

You’ve been reading great articles that sometimes you were laid into because of the headline, subtitle or image. Or because how they change your emotions.

And you never take note of that.

But what happens? You never think of how you can attract others to read yours just like you were attracted to do. That’s a big problem.

You have to pick one thing: headline, subtitle or image. Master it like there’s no tomorrow and then move to how you can master the proper way of using images that drives attention. Subtitles that increase curiosity.

Here’s how I do that

It’s very simple to understand but it’s not easy to execute what you learned.

Don’t just read the strategy I’m about to show you, promise me you will make it happen.

There are 30 days and four weeks in each month. That day when my I shifted my mindset for growth, I knew I had to divide the month into some categories.

The first week, I focused on headlines, because that’s the best aspect.

Screenshot taken by me via Medium's Mr. Beast's Bird account.

I read some books on copywriting by Rob Bly, Sugarman, G. Halbert, Makepeace, Ogilvy….. and studied how some other Medium gurus, which I’m sure you’ve known, are making their contents.

And I’m still studying how Alex Hormozi and Mr. Beast are making people to click.

You have to read. You have to learn, my dear. What might take you up to 10 years to figure out, this people had experienced those years and then wrote it down for you.

Back to the thing. The second week, study how top creators make subtitle. Adopt it. Repeat.

The third, proper images. Spare some good days or week within each month. Study how you can use images properly. Keep applying this method.

It may not necessarily be week, if you like 3–5 days. Fine. Good to go!

Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone that I use to scroll back to big creator’s 3–5 years ago contents. It takes me many minutes scrolling but I know what I learn.

I analyze and see how they write years or months ago, then figure out what they extracted from their today’s content because of improvement.

Try as much as possible to make everyday meaningful with a determined goal that you mainly want to focus all your energy on learning.

In few months, your growth will shock you.

Image created by the author

--

--

T. A. Adam
ILLUMINATION

My articles are for those with dreams to be successful— or grow your Medium account. I'll help you! I am a writing coach and freelance copywriter - Try me!