One Simple Idea to Defeat Satan a.k.a The Perfectionism

A trick that requires a new perspective

Shams Shirinova
ILLUMINATION

--

from Unsplash

At some point, all who want to reach the top of their game have suffered from the excruciating and unforgiving power of perfectionism. We all know how convincing she might be, whispering how unworthy the work you have spent a substantial amount of time on is. What is more unforgiving is that we buy into it. We listen to her and do not publish that book, video, the article, you name it.

I know, I have been there. I have written enough material later to collect them in 4 different books and never get to publish them. Why? Because I thought they were not perfect, no matter how hard I tried, no matter how many times I worked on them, no matter how much I told myself and have been told that “You have to publish them. It is your work. There might be people who need to hear them”, no, it did not work out.

I could not help myself out of the labyrinth of perfectionism. It got me so hard that I lost the passion for publishing them to the point that I regret that I have written them in the first place. There was negative self-talk like this:

“If only did you not tell anyone about it. No one needed to know what you were working on and your failure of not sharing those. If only did you never attempt to write anything. You…

--

--

Shams Shirinova
ILLUMINATION

A creative writer who is in love with writing her heart out. Check out my Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOa0U0pt2MNswRVTXCC9GAA