One Small Mindfulness Victory for Me, One Giant Lesson for All of Us

I kept my cool in a situation that usually ignites me.

David Gerken
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Samuel Clara on Unsplash

Before diving in on my mindful “win” yesterday, I need to reiterate something I’ve written before. I’m not a guru or a high spiritual being. I’m like most of you reading this article: Someone trying to make his way along the spiritual path.

Why is it important to let you know that? That comes later.

But let’s get to what happened yesterday. My wife, who works from home, left at around noon for a work lunch. She said she’d be back around four.

The $26 Acai excursion

My 13-year-old daughter got home from school around 3:45 and was starving. So I took her to get something called an Acai bowl, which is a fruity something or other. And hugely expensive at $16! But whatever. She’s a great kid. Works hard in school and is a wonderful girl.

She’d paid with my credit card online. So when we got there, she grabbed the bag and we headed back to the car. But on the way I got a look at the receipt. It was $26! She’d added a vegan cookie and some add-ons to her bowl.

I wasn’t happy about this. But this isn’t the mindful episode of the article.

--

--

David Gerken
ILLUMINATION

Meditation and Mindfulness teacher. Dad of three precious kids. Former writer for THE WEST WING. Follow me at davidgerken.net.