Leadership | Engagement | Motivation | Productivity

One-to-One Meetings: Your Most Effective Leadership Tool

What one-to-ones are and how to implement them

Wendy Scott
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readDec 17, 2020

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

Talking to your team regularly is the most productive way to develop a high performing, effective, and engaged team.

Who am I to make such a bold statement?

I am a Learning & Development/Organisational Development professional, I have led many teams myself, and I have managed the implementation of leadership programs.

On a personal note, I have been in the workforce for nearly forty years, and I have had some excellent leaders and some truly horrible ones.

The best leaders were the ones who met with me every week and genuinely cared about me as a person. It felt good to report to a leader like that.

High-performance managers are involved in their employees’ work lives. They don’t subscribe to a laissez faire approach to management, and they don’t ignore their employees.” — Gallup

According to Gallup, when employees strongly agree that their managers know what projects they are working on, they are seven times more likely to be engaged, rather than disengaged.

--

--

Wendy Scott
ILLUMINATION

L&D professional writing practical, step-by-step leadership and training & development articles to help leaders, managers & trainers grow their careers.