One Way To Survive A Regret From Childhood

Time Is On Your Side

Lucia Landini
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

Everyone has different regrets in life, whether you are still angry for ignoring your personal happiness or wish you’d spent more time with your kids. Yet, a lot of our biggest regrets have to do with episodes about romance that took place in our childhood or youth. Maybe we didn’t have enough courage to ask that girl or boy out on a date, or we dumped someone that we wish we hadn’t. Many people keep thinking of “what might have been” and they don’t forgive themselves.

The question is, are you going to change your behavior considering your regrets?

My habitual regret is for something I was interested in and I didn’t do, something I wanted and didn’t ask for, a person I liked and didn’t get in touch with. It is my not taking action when I wanted to. I always think I could have said what I really felt at that moment.

My first regret dates back to my childhood.

I was sitting in a car with three girlfriends: we were waiting for my mother to finish shopping and drive us to gym class. One of us, the older girl, asked: “Is any of you in love with my brother?” I am sure we were all shocked. Love? We were seven years old, we started thinking about love, but we couldn’t talk about it yet! We were a group of good girls; we didn’t dare to speak…

--

--

Lucia Landini
ILLUMINATION

I write about personal growth and relationships. I love reading and sharing happiness.