Why Online Dating is Overrated

Patience, patience, patience

Colin Zhang
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Tommy van Kessel 🤙 on Unsplash

I’ve never been a fan of nightlife. Sure, who doesn't love drinking? But the noise, socializing, and women hunting? I’ll pass.

I love meeting girls, just not in the nightclub environment.

But online dating, that’s a different kind of animal, especially for an old-fashioned geek like me, who doesn’t even have social media.

I’ve never tried to meet girls online until I met my current girlfriend. She came for vacation from New York and happened to find my Wechat group from the internet(I set up a group chat for newcomers to town who looked for new friends) I let her join the group because her tour group sucked and she’d rather be on her own.

The group consisted of 50–60 people, it was fairly new and I recently started planning meetups, so my girlfriend came at the right time. We went out to a theme park with a few people and hit it off.

Was it the typical Tinder date? No. But it was considered ‘meeting online’ because it’s where we first made contact. It was completely unorthodox for an introvert like myself, but most people will say it’s just the world we’re in now, a strange time.

Honestly, I’m not looking forward to this trajectory, where people skip the organic process and head straight to…

--

--