Swimming with Orcas

Orcas are Called Killer Whales, but Humans are not on the menu

I want to see them in the wild, up close

Lawson Wallace
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Orca close to the surface
Photo by Andre Estevez from Pexels

It started for me when I was a kid. My parents loved animals. The whole family enjoyed watching animal documentaries on TV. The Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau was my favorite.

Whales are particularly interesting to me. Going Whale watching in the Pacific Northwest, Mexico and Alaska are on my bucket list. Encountering an Orca in the wild would be a dream come true.

I love the videos and pictures of these amazing animals

I joined a FaceBook group devoted to whales. I love the videos and photographs of these amazing animals, but I shake my head when I read the comments.

I don’t understand how in the Information Age, people can be so misinformed. I will address the comments that are prevalent about these encounters with Orcas.

That’s an encounter that she will never forget

There’s a video that’s on FaceBook, it’s an overhead shot of a woman swimming in the ocean. Three or four orcas surround her, they are close enough to touch.

--

--

Lawson Wallace
ILLUMINATION

64-year-old married guy, I have been writing stories for years, but never submitted or published anything. I write about my successes and failures, everything.