Our Personalities Rather Than Our Looks

Do The X
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2023
Photo by Anders Jildén on Unsplash

We have different kinds of beauty in our physical either our face or body. And the physical term is always subjective and relative based on who values us. But for the personality, I think we all agree that a good personality is better than a bad one. We will respect and love someone who has a good personality even though she/he doesn’t have a beautiful face or body in our perspective. On the other hand, we also can disrespect someone who doesn’t have a good personality even though she/he has a gorgeous face and body.

Personalities are built by a long process. They can be formed from our family at home who told and taught us what should and shouldn’t do, from our experiences in life that make us learn and realize something, or even we create or build our habits by ourselves so they become our personalities at the end.

The one who has been with you for a long time, whether your family, someone who ever traveled with you for some days, or someone who was your roommate when you were in school, or someone else, that is the one who knows your characters better. They can see the real you. They can see how you handle all kinds of situations like sadness, anger, joy, happiness, panic, fear, and many more.

We will be the ones who act based on our personalities. Even if we try pretending to act the opposite of our personality, it won’t last long.

For myself, I think I will be happy if someone praises me because of my good personality rather than my looks. It is because my personality shows who I really am. My personality hasn’t been already good of course, but I’m trying to improve it. You have to do so.

Oh yeah, I like one of the Islamic prayers that is usually read when looking at the mirror. The meaning is something like this “O God, just as You have made my external features beautiful, make my character beautiful as well.” I like this prayer because we don’t just ask beauty in our looks, but also in our personalities or characters.

Thanks for reading! And as always, SMILE because you are so much amazing! :)

--

--