Our Values In Recovery And Sobriety

Michael Patanella
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readNov 13, 2020

--

https://pixabay.com/illustrations/man-standing-qualities-thanking-1207675/

I have started to learn, as times goes on, that my life will end up being counter productive if I don’t have my mind set on the values that I want to become part of. There are two paths that we can travel in life. If we aren’t travelling towards values, that we are moving away from them. But is there a third option? Is that option one that keeps us stuck on pause? All of these are potentials in which many people can relate to in life at different stages. As for what I think, I believe that there has to be a choice of two options; the ones of either being close or far to the values you have. To me, if the third option of being stuck on pause does exist, then it pretty much resembles a way of life that is not focused in on being near values.

Sometimes we may not even feel that aware of this type of mindset. I found out that for myself, my entire perception of my values seemed a bit undercover for many years. It didn’t mean that my life didn’t have values. It just meant that I wasn’t that tuned in, to those values. As if the values existed, deep in my brain somewhere, but I may had not been actively living and breathing my values. What that sometimes lead to was behaviours that didn’t really match the values; as if mistakes were made because of failing to live in a way that we know darn well was the right way to live.

--

--

Michael Patanella
ILLUMINATION

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com