Out of the Closet

Re-organisation advice which has simplified my life

Jacinta Palmer🍂
ILLUMINATION

--

I’ve read articles about people getting in experts to help them organise their lives, it always sounded like money for old rope. My friends ask me round when they’re downsizing or moving, I’m able to help them be ruthless, to advise on the ‘keep or throw’ decisions.

With their possessions thinned, their lives streamlined, the ‘chi’ could flow freely in their homes. My bonus was I also came away with a few of my friends’ unwanted ‘treasures’ — it’s no secret I’m a second-hand fan who enjoys an up-cycling project.

If I’m honest, I’m less good at being ruthless with my own accumulated stuff. I tend to hold onto things ‘just in case’, but decisiveness is required, space is not unlimited. When lockdown forced me to create a workspace at home it was time to hark back to the mantras used by the experts:

Keep only what you consider beautiful or useful

Forget other people’s taste, be honest with yourself. Has your style evolved since the object came into your life? Do you consider it beautiful now? Some things have a sentimental value, but as you can’t keep everything, would a photograph of the item (in use) work as a reminder of those happy memories?

Take any usable items you don’t intend to keep to a charity shop or get rid of them via selling or swapping sites. I use one which can be kept local so I specify my buyers must collect. There are…

--

--

Jacinta Palmer🍂
ILLUMINATION

*Does not Follow for Follow* Writing the kind of Fiction I love 2 Read | YA | Magical | Romance | Supernatural | Freelance Editor | Besotted with dogs