Overcoming Limitations to Do More with Less: The Filippo Inzaghi Story

Kurnia Sukma Adiguna
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 21, 2023

--

Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

When people ask who my childhood hero was, I always mention Italian footballer Filippo Inzaghi. I recall waking up in the middle of the night on September 14, 2002, to watch a football league match for the first time. It wasn’t without reason, at that time I was still carried away with the euphoria of the 2002 World Cup held in Japan & South Korea. This tournament was the first football competition I watched, and I was mesmerized as Brazil, led by their 3Rs (Ronaldo, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho), tore through their opponents’ defenses in each match, and led Brazil to victory. From there I realized that I thoroughly enjoyed soccer games.

It was also not without reason that I chose the AC Milan vs Modena match as the first game I watched after the 2002 World Cup ended. A few weeks after the World Cup ended, I happened to read an article in a sports newspaper that Rivaldo (one of the 3Rs from Brazil) had just completed his transfer to AC Milan. At that time, I was still very blind to club competitions and Rivaldo was one of the few football players whose name was familiar to me. My intention that night was just one, to again see Rivaldo’s magical actions on the field as he had shown in the 2002 World Cup.

90 minutes passed…

--

--