Overcoming Marijuana Addiction: A Personal Journey to Quitting for Good

Victor Kipyegon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readDec 10, 2023

An authentic real-life encounter. What I'm going to discuss is based on an actual past experience rather than a statement I've heard from someone, perused in a newspaper, or seen in the news. I felt compelled to share this with anyone who could relate to me (a few years ago), be worried about someone else, or just be curious about information regarding stopping marijuana use. Whenever I hear someone discussing how to stop using marijuana, I always stop for a moment and try to understand what they are going through in terms of their social, mental, and obviously physical health.

Photo by GRAS GRÜN on Unsplash

I can imagine how many people want to quit smoking, but they have tried a dozen times with no success. Yes. It is hard, but also too easy. I realized that whatever you hear is what your mind wants you to believe in and adjust to.

I started smoking marijuana in 2018 during my first year in college, and honestly, I felt good, besides knowing its adverse effects. My mind couldn’t want to try and be responsible for my health, and guess what? Instead, I was too happy and got more addicted.

My peers could talk good about marijuana but ignore the negative impacts it had.
For me, I knew well what I was into, but I just wanted to be high, feel good, and pass time. But just sometimes, a sense of responsibility would cross my mind, and I felt the need to just live a normal life and quit smoking. I browsed on ways to quit smoking, read through documentaries, and for sure, it had me trying to quit smoking for a while, two days tops, and again, going back to my smoking habit. This went on for 3 years, and that was the period I had to attend my first external industrial attachment. This time around, I told myself that I was quitting in no way whatsoever.
I had evaluated what I had gained and lost by smoking; actually, the losses weighed more than the good, which really wasn’t any good. On the first day of my attachment, I was busy for almost the whole day and got back home in the evening. I had time to smoke, but I just tried to convince myself that it wasn’t necessary. This day repeated itself for around 2 months, and we had to report back to school. This is when I came along with my peers, and one evening, just as usual in our college time, it was time to club and party.
A blunt was lit, and when the chain reached me, I just passed it on to the next guy and told them that I had quite it, even though I really had missed it and felt like smoking. That one answer I gave them always made me not go back on my word because I wanted to be known for not going back on my word.

Guess what? That was it.
I have never taken a hit of marijuana until today. My goal is to encourage anyone who feels that giving up drugs, alcohol, smoking, or any other bad habit is not difficult to do so by sharing my experience. All you have to do is turn around and adhere to your choice. Addiction may make things difficult, but remember that nothing is insurmountable.

--

--

Victor Kipyegon
ILLUMINATION

I'm an SEO Expert and article writer. Crafting unique, optimized content on global technology. Formerly at Opera News, I bring fluency and reader engagement.