My emotional eating challenge has ended

Ozempic Taught Me Something About Food That I Did Not Know Before

And it changed my relationship with food because of it.

Miriam Rachel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readApr 15, 2024

--

My Ozempic pen, by Miriam Rachel, all rights reserved.

Back in the day, if life got stressful, the one thing I turned to was food. And I did not go after healthy food.

Who does when food brings comfort? I always went after highly processed and calorie-dense palatable foods. In other words, junk food was my savior until it no longer was.

I yo-yo’ed for decades because I always turned to food for comfort, but I also hated gaining weight, so I would lose weight only to gain it back again.

However, I stayed in the trap of emotional eating until I was prescribed Ozempic.

After learning that all of the years of yo-yo dieting and not correctly processing my trauma (while spending a chunk of those years in survival mode due to caregiver burnout and depression) and having PCOS risked me for diabetes. It happened, and genetics played a role, too.

Since taking Ozempic, I no longer turned to food for comfort, which was confusing and challenging. That meant I had to look for other ways to handle stress.

--

--

Miriam Rachel
ILLUMINATION

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel