Past Conversations

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2021

(Having donuts in the snow with friends,
what about you?/
Why not good or great or wonderful/
you should join lol/
Got any girls on your radar?/Show me!/
Dang, she’s cute!/
Well, I gotta hit the hay,
talk to you later goodnight!)

Well, this friendship’s working,
and I’m glad we met, and
you could reach out more often,
but there’s no issue yet.

Now, new messages I keep receiving
and I’ve long accepted none are yours.
No shame in thinking ‘bout past conversations.
Take the good and nothing more.

(I’m well, how about you/
damn, yeah, it has been a while!/
Yeah, I saw it, it was really good!/
What’d you think?/
I’m sorry man, I’m just really busy!/
I’ll let you know when I get a sec,
this weekend should be slower!)

Well, this friendship’s working,
and I’m glad we met, but
you could reach out more often,
before there’s an issue yet.

Now, new messages I keep receiving
and I’ve long accepted none are yours.
No shame in thinking ‘bout past conversations.
Take the good and nothing more.

Is inaction preferable to effort?
You answered that.
Thanks for your lack of dedication,
I didn’t forget.
You know I showed you that
I didn’t forget.

(Just saw your message/
I was shwasted lol that’s probably why!/
Dude we text literally all the time!/
Like I said it’s been busy lately!/
Well I’m sorry you feel that way,
when I have free time I will let you know/
Really appreciate it bud,
you’re always welcome here!)

Well, this friendship’s not working,
and I’m glad we met, but
wish you’d reached out more often,
I said, there’d be issues yet.

Now, new messages I keep receiving
and I’ve long accepted none are yours.
No shame in thinking ‘bout past conversations.
Take the good and nothing more.

--

--

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION

27. Instagram: @zachkerman “You've gotta be original, because if you're like someone else, what do they need you for?”