People and Sharing of Experiences

Day #24: 100 Happy Days

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

--

Credits: Author’s own image

Just like you, I have had many people in my life who I’d attribute to making me who I am today. Certainly, these are ‘my people’ whom I am close with and have encouraged me to do the right thing. At the same time, I am also grateful to many people who are not in my closest circle, but have shared their time, patience, and experiences that helped me take one step ahead. The next step is often the only step.

How did I meet these people?

I meet them everywhere. At one instance, I met one teacher when I was observing her classroom (I was a teacher professional learning personnel then). She was reciting “We shall overcome …” with her students. To my surprise, the class sang —

“We shall overcome … We shall overcome … We shall overcome … today.

Deep in my heart, I do believe, that we shall overcome … today.

How impressive, right? This was five years ago. :)

I also met one who helped me see that my why behind doctoral studies wasn’t strong yet (a year ago). And, yet another one, who helped me reframe the way I approach writing my statement of purpose for school (three years ago). Oh, yes, another one who took me to have ice-cream with her because I was not feeling the best (two years…

--

--

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ The Little Prince