Discovering BTS Part-3

I did not knew liking a boy band would question my choice, my age, my gender, and many more things.

Rucha Jamale
ILLUMINATION
6 min readSep 23, 2021

--

Photo by Brad Starkey on Unsplash

“Dude did you listened to BTS’s new song Dynamite? I’m completely in love with the boys” I asked one of my friends, for that I got a reply “BTS never! Rucha they are girls, how could you like them?!” I said ignore! because this is not the first time I’m hearing this comment. I’m an Indian and watching K-dramas for years and I simply adore them, their culture, their manners, it’s so similar to us. I already know three languages but still want to learn Korean, hence after watching BTS it felt an instant connection. I simply loved their songs, their catchy music, the best dancers, and performers I can say. Moreover, they are good human beings and a true gentleman.

I discovered BTS a bit late, but as I started to explore them the constant thing I noticed was that BTS was loved by many but at the same time hated by the most, in fact, I came across many videos which stated reasons to hate BTS, dirty secrets about BTS, BTS Gay compilations, the overrated band, etc. I was like okay, nowadays it’s pretty common to find such hate videos about celebs, but the thing which drove me crazy was BTS are girls, they look like girls, they behave like girls, they wear makeup like girls, I was like wait wait wait a second I’m a 26-year-old Software Engineer and a strong and independent girl, oh yeah straight girl, and by this, you all mean to say that BTS behaves like me like a girl! so I should take it as a compliment right? But was this actually meant like this way? Nope absolutely not, they used like a girl, like a gay as a complete insult. This is completely n-u-t-s! Here I can’t even imagine the condition of boys who stan BTS. I just want to say if someone nags you just show them this video and tell them “listen, my friend, the man you admire and have grown up watching is himself a BTS fan — John Cena.”(Mic drop!)

I just want to ask that who decided these norms, these rules that women should act very feminine, should dress properly, behave softly, sit gently, whereas boys should look strong, should be masculine, have a beard, should not cry. Like seriously, it’s 21st-century guys! So BTS doesn’t have a beard, rather they don’t keep one as per their culture, their choice. Here, in India, there are different regions in which beard is treated as sacred, where somewhere just mustache is preferred over the beard, where somewhere none of this is preferred, and it’s totally Okay. But this is literally so childish that overall in the entire world a man’s identity has relied on his facial hair! No not at all!

We really need to rethink about these gender norms as this is constantly pressuring both Men and Women. A women who is constantly fighting to be more like men and a man who is constantly trying to suppress his emotions. We really need to understand the concept of Masculinity and Femininity And should accept and acknowledge that every person in this universe has both feminine and masculine energies within them. And judging based on these energies is entirely wrong.

I guess maybe the main reason behind acting and behaving as per your gender is it makes you more acceptable in society as well as makes you more attracted to the opposite sex. I mean okay everyone here wants to be accepted, everyone wants to be loved and cared by all. But nobody here said that you have to satisfy this and that criteria and then only you will be acceptable by the opposite gender. In fact the same gender too. I think the most unique way to love is to accepting the way you are and loving yourself first #loveyourself and then you will be liable to love others, but here others don’t mean that only the love between a man and a woman or a love between man to man or women to women.

Recently I saw a video of RM mentioning love in the Frozen movie, I was like Omg did I finally found my think alike or what! But jokes apart the movie climax explained it all that an act of true love was not a kiss between Kristoff and frozen Anna but it was a hug between two sisters Elsa and Anna. So true love is not just between a man and woman but it can be between Friends, Family, Pets too, which can eventually melt anyone’s frozen heart!

Photo by Josue Michel on Unsplash

BTS is not just a band, it’s a family of seven young boys who love each other immensely. Everywhere around the world when two male celebs love each other it’s called Bromance but when BTS does it they are called gay and girls. Isn’t it unfair?

“I just want to say that before addressing someone, please watch your words because by calling them gay you are disrespecting the entire LGBTQ community, and by calling them girls you are literally belittling half of humanity. So please watch out!”

There is a famous video by Always that recognized this Like-A-Girl tag, it's so deep, relatable, inspiring, please please please watch it. (I literally get goosebumps every time watching it). Since childhood, we speak or do many things unknowingly, but today we get that, that were wrong practices and we need to improve them asap. So let’s just stop using Like a Girl, Like a Gay as an insult, please I request you 🙏 .In fact, let just make it a Like a Girl, Like a Gay as a compliment.

Photo by Rochelle Brown on Unsplash

To all the people who love BTS, I just want to say that please don’t hate these people because they are just in misunderstanding and we just need to clear their perspective and help them, because they are indeed awakened from sleep but have forgotten to remove their eye mask. So please help them to remove_the_eyemask. If they don’t listen try again, still did not no worries. But don’t hate them as it’s already 2020 and the world is cursed so one thing to do is to stay strong with each other because they are no one but our friends, family only. I think they just need some J-Hope (Hope) in their life and then there will be the real V (Victory)!

Since the beginning, BTS was criticized for their music, their lyrics, Rap, etc but now they are just undeniable in the entire universe, no doubt they are on top today. They don’t need these big essays but it’s better to say than keeping inside, I guess just for avoiding future regrets. And I did it! And yep I selected this day because as you all know it’s our Mon’s the ultimate leader Kim Nam Joon’s birthday. Happiest b’day RM, what can I wish to someone who already wears the crown, but yeah one small thing I could ask for is_let’s watch Frozen together man, if possible, someday in this lifetime!

So please share this post as much you can, use this hashtag, and let the people know the power of Love, the power of BTS lovers across the globe, and yes do help our friends in removing their eye masks. Thanks!

For more fun visit Behind the scenes of this story 😁

That’s BTS 💜 PC: Concept Photo V, Album: Love Yourself-Her

--

--

Rucha Jamale
ILLUMINATION

A girl who likes to recites stories! Basically, I don’t write, I talk with you through my writings!💁