Perfection is an adjective. Not a verb. Or is it? Have You Ever Thought This Word Is Worth A Life Lesson?

Unheard But Loved (#Writer #Art #Life)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readSep 30, 2022

We as humans have always sought perfection, haven’t we? Whether relationships or our work, past or future, everything is just a matter of how we look at it or is it not?

Perfection, quite literally, is one of the few words in English that can be used both as an adjective and a verb. It depends on your outlook on things. “To look” is to “see it through,” and “to be” is to “know.”

Today, I had a conversation with a friend of mine where he just said, “Insaan na insaan hai bas. (A Human is just human, that’s it.) Perfection is an adjective. Not a verb. Ye bolna thoda easy hota hai par samajhna mushkil.(It’s a little easy to say but difficult to understand).

And trust me, though it was a casual conversation, it led me to wonder if it was really true? Or is it something that everyone agreed on? And that’s what I am here to talk about today.

This creation of mine is meant to describe the simplicity of life. It is what I call “Perfection Amongst Those Little Things.” Life is simple if we want it to be, but we take all the necessary steps to make this complicated. To be honest, I think, like me, our anxiety contributes to it the most. But what we need to ask is, “till when”? When will we start realizing it and start living? Start learning and keep going.

To me, what perfection, or shall I say “perfect” should be, depends on us. After all, as I said, it can actually be used as both. It’s on us if we want it to be an adjective or verb.

On the one hand, we can make it the key mantra to define everything in our life, a.k.a, perfect partner, perfect family, perfect friends, its adjecti-fying the “perfection of life.” But ask yourself, is it really possible?

On the other hand, I can perfect myself at something, that’s what I call “verb-ifying perfection,” which is something we all seek, but sometimes it becomes the most toxic thing in life. For me, my learning from this conversation I had with my friend was, either way; it’s toxic.

But what we should seek as the word itself is “balance” or, shall I say, the “capability to easily adapt as the need be,” don’t you think?

We need to be able to adapt according to the demand of time. Today, I am taking this in the context of our past. Past, to me, is not only when we have an experience that we should learn something from and then move on.

NO, NO, AND A BIG NO. Because we are humans, we cannot completely erase something or just accept it and not feel it. What I think past is that “it has already happened, and you actually can’t do anything about it today.” None of our actions, guilt, or anger today can change what has already happened. It’s just how we view it.

After thinking a lot, it came down to this:

He (any human) can evolve, he can learn, and can grow. That’s what the past is used for. But like, even in school you learn, you give a test, sometimes you remember all you have read, and sometimes you don’t, so you revise.

And I think that’s life too. You learn, but here from the test of life you already gave. Some lessons remain etched in your mind forever, and some you still revisit to learn.

The only difference is life is not so simple, and humans? We can’t even say that without it being a lie.

They learn the harsh lessons, take time with them, process them, and keep them in their heart as reminders. But that doesn’t mean they’re not moving on.

To literally translate the above text, it says:

Life always stops where we never want it to. And life always runs 100 miles an hour when we wish to stop and take it all in.

All we need to understand is that sometimes if we need to move past our hurt, we need to spend time with it, even when we don’t want to…

And on the other hand, we always want to stay in those moments/places of happiness a little bit longer, or maybe always. However, we need to know that we can’t because happiness is not a place, but it is those “little things and moments,” and thus, it doesn’t have a “single place” but so many!

I wanted to say this: my “unheards but loved”:

Life is too small to seek perfection, and if you want to, seek a balance in it too.

Staying in hurt is a necessary part of learning, yes, but we also need to learn from it. Try to visit your past or any other experiences only when you need to learn or get reminded of that lesson, just like in school.

But let go simultaneously and learn to capture happiness in those “little moments,” will you?

As Alfred said, “Why do we fall? So we can learn to pick ourselves up!” Right? What do you think about this my “unheard but loved”? Let’s step up, shall we?

Amalvee,

An Unheard But Loved Just Like You ❤

PS: Thank you for giving me something so essential to think about, Siddhant! ❤

--

--

Unheard But Loved (#Writer #Art #Life)
ILLUMINATION

Being unheard today is as common as getting an ice-cream. I am amongst “those unheard” but somehow loved. I am here to bring “their” attention to “the love”.