STORY | TRANSFORMATION | PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT

Personal Responsibility — How To Be Accountable For Your Actions & Exercise Self-Control Starting Today

Discover which areas of your life you need to take personal responsibility the most

Lata Kokal (formerly Neha Sonney)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Water pours from a can over green grass
Photo by David Ballew on Unsplash

“There is an expiry date on blaming your parents for steering you in the wrong direction; the moment you are old enough to take the wheel, responsibility lies with you.”
J.K. Rowling

Personal responsibility is knowing that the grass is greener where you water it.

Self-love is taking full emotional responsibility for yourself. That was where I had to begin my journey. Or else I would act out of my powerless six year old traumatized self, with no self-control.

A child doesn’t have the ability to regulate themselves unless his/her parents show them how to do it consistently and with patience. My mother is a narcissist. A narcissistic parent damages their child on multiple levels. Obviously, I wasn’t taught how to regulate my emotions in childhood, but, does it give me the liberty, as a grown woman, to continue the damage and pass it on to my child? Where’s the personal responsibility in that?

--

--

Lata Kokal (formerly Neha Sonney)
ILLUMINATION

Healed from Narcissistic Abuse | Author of 📗: WIRED FOR SELF-LOVE |🎙The Relationship Academy | Free 📚: NehaSonney.Gumroad.com | IG & YT @latakokalofficial