Pharmacist’s Journal: Writing to Find Answers in Pharmacy

The seven characteristics of ideal pharmacy leaders

Jason Chenard
ILLUMINATION

--

There is a line that has stuck with me from when I was a pharmacy student: onto paper and out of your head.

It means that writing down our thoughts allows us to press the pause button on stress and return to it with a fresh mindset the next day. Observing how this bedside-notebook technique was a solution for me in my twenties, I have naturally continued a journaling process to solve problems throughout my pharmacy practice.

Now through over a decade of navigating pharmacy from the trenches, that notebook has become quite thick. In a two-year long analysis of the countless journal entries, I have discovered a fundamental thesis of what I have been trying to figure out.

What are the characteristics of a great pharmacy leader?

In writing about the anecdotes and lessons offered by managing people, the business and the profession, I found seven recurrent themes, which I called the seven dimensions of the ideal pharmacy leader. Isolating these would guide me in what to strive for in my own behavior and habits and what to look for when hiring staff.

To help categorize these characteristics, I paired them with an adjective to isolate their specificity, then labeled them with the anagram LAYERED.

--

--

Jason Chenard
ILLUMINATION

Jason is a pharmacist and triathlete and founder of Layered Leadership, a health & wellness platform for pharmacy. layeredleadership.ca