Philosophers are cool

Deep thinking that resonates

Swift
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJan 27, 2024

--

Photo by Anthony Tori on Unsplash

I saw this video, and I’ve not watched it yet, but I want to watch it.

It was titled something like how to think like a philosopher.

Philosophers are so cool.

They come up with the most random things.

They take mundane scenarios, and they make it into some life-changing lesson.

Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

The thing that makes philosophers powerful is that they don’t look at everything the same way as us.

They think too much, but in a good way

They also find meaning in things that don’t have any

Philosophers seem like the most interesting people to talk to.

Imagine sitting next to someone and they start saying, Have you ever wondered if the universe is fake? Or life is just a simulation?

That’s the first thing that came to a head because I’ve heard people say that so much.

Sometimes it makes me wonder, do they actually wish the simulation or do they hope it’s a simulation?

If they do, then they kind of make you think that they don’t like their life. So they hope that it amounts to a thing because they do nothing.

Or do they hope that it’s not true? But if they hope that’s not true, they wouldn’t think about it that much about it.

See we’re thinking like philosophers right now overcomplicating stuff but in a good way.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

There’s so many benefits to thinking differently than other people.

You become a much more interesting person to talk to and be around because you’re different.

It’s the same reason why saying yes to opportunities that most people would say no to is such a good thing.

It makes you different, it makes you more interesting to talk to because you have more stuff to talk to talk about.

Once, I accidentally open someone else’s car door instead of mine.

To make things worse, the person the person’s car was someone in my class.

I felt embarrassed for like five minutes but then it went away because I knew this thing is an opportunity for a conversation in the future

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

If you’re able to invoke emotion in your story, that makes people want to talk to you , provided that emotion is good.

Saying yes to stuff makes you different, which makes you more interesting to talk to.

So when I see an opportunity, or I’ve had something happen to me, I say yes, because I do want to be an interesting person.

There’s always something that I can take from this opportunity.

That’s probably what a philosopher thinks I don’t know, I didn’t watch the video.

Here’s what I think: A philosopher wants to experience as many things as possible, so they have more things to philosophize about.

If you sit at home all day, you won’t have much to deeply think about but if you’ve experienced more stuff, then you have more stuff to think about and ponder upon.

It’s a mixture of doing things and then having the silence to think about that thing that you’ve just done, and find and extract meaning from it.

That, I think, would make a philosopher.

There’s also a chance that I have no idea what a philosopher is.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Conclusion

  • Philosophers are interesting
  • If you think life is a simulation it’s time to look back at yours
  • Every opportunity is a story

--

--

Swift
ILLUMINATION

3 minute life lessons to improve your mindset