Philosophy: What Is It and Why It Matters

How This Age-old Discipline Can Save Your Life

Nino Padilla
ILLUMINATION

--

INTRODUCTION

In college, one of my professors defined Philosophy as “the study of everything according to its ultimate reality in light of reason.” Given that definition, he asked some students what their life philosophy is.

I answered that my philosophy in life is to do things according to what God wants me to. To consistently orient my actions towards the good.

So if everyone has their opinion, it should be clear now, right?

Yes and no, there’s more to philosophy than just what we think.

WHAT IS IT THEN?

The study of everything according to ultimate reality in light of reason might be too abstract. If philosophy is the study of everything, it should cover all academic disciplines. Shouldn’t all subjects be labeled as philosophy, then? There’s some truth to that.

While Philosophy is present in all things, there are four questions it looks into. These four are present in everything we do, whether we realize it or not.

--

--

Nino Padilla
ILLUMINATION

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.