Placement. (The Bad Girls Home — 20 Years Later)

Jackie Rogers
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readJun 25, 2022
Photo by Cottonbro on Pexels https://www.pexels.com/@cottonbro/

"An object in motion stays in motion, an object in motion stays in motion." repeated in her mind all day long. For some reason, it was comforting.

2003

When Jackie's friend offered her the teaching job at a residential treatment facility for at-risk girls, she didn't expect to like it much. The students at these places have already endured more trauma than most of us would see in two lifetimes, so they're not the easiest bunch of kids.

"Think of it as an acting job," her friend had told her.

"Just don't let them get to you, or you're sunk," she said.

But Jackie did like it and took to it well. So when the Vice-Principal position became available after she had only been there two years, she applied — foolishly thinking that without a Master's degree, nor even a teaching credential, there was no chance in hell that she would get it.

And yet…

The first morning went something like this.

2005

INTERIOR SHOT, JACKIE'S NEW OFFICE: Jackie goes to her desk and tries to remain calm as she grabs her cell and texts Mark.

"Are you kidding me? Why did they throw me to the teacher-wolves at the first meeting!"

She tosses the phone back into her desk drawer and slams it shut. She begins frantically looking through the piles of papers on her desk when she senses a presence at her door; she looks up and sees Denisha poking her head into the office.

Denisha J.,17-year-old resident. She is beautiful, with a huge smile. She is cunning and charismatic. Her body is 17, but she still has a child's face.

JACKIE: Yes, Ms. Johnson.

Denisha continues her entrance into her old teacher's new office and smiles ear to ear. She has a great smile.

JACKIE: And what may I do for you, (looks up at the clock) not five minutes into the school day?

DENISHA: Look-At-You. Up in here and getting the job done already. (She eases her way into the messy office and strolls across the room as if on stage.) Vice Principal Dawes. Vice Principal! Your honor (she bows as she laughs).

JACKIE: (continues looking for the papers) You need to get back to class, little Miss. (the phone rings — Jackie picks it up) Yes, Ms. Webster. No, she should not. Tell her to put her head up.

DENISHA: (continues as if Ms. Dawes is not on the phone) Ooooooh. We got our pictures up and a nameplate, and what's this?

JACKIE: (on phone ) No, do not force her, but tell her to put her head up. (looks up to Denisha) A hole-punch. (Back to phone) Yes, Ms. Webster, those are the rules. (hangs up)

DENISHA: Shit looks tight.

JACKIE: Ms. VanKamp is probably looking for you, and you're going to loose behavior points already.

DENISHA: Please. That bitch hasn't even gotten up out of her seat yet. She ain't looking for nobody. Besides, I'm not feeling it today.

JACKIE: I don't have time for the Denisha show this morning, so you must get back to class before I take your points. And don't call teachers names; they don't make enough money to put up with your shit. I've got to check on Emmy.

DENISHA: Now you know you ain't gonna take my points just cuz I came to see you this morning to ask about a job.

JACKIE: A job?

DENISHA: You're gonna need me to help you out around here. Look at them snacks, not even out of the boxes yet. You need to get them in the supply closet before the end of the day. Let me help you out. (Phone rings again)

JACKIE: (still looking for forms, grabs phone ) Yes, Ms. Webster, please let her know if she continues to behave this way, she can head down to the office. No, Ms. Webster, stay with your class; just send her down. You know what? I'll come down in a minute (hangs up). Denisha, go to class.

DENISHA: Oh, Here-We-Go. How are you gonna just kick me out on your first day? This place is a mess.

JACKIE: I am not kicking you out; I am kicking you back in. Get to class before I zero you out myself and give you a work detail (she moves to a stack of boxes still seeking the papers).

DENISHA: Awwww, see, that's messed up. Here I am wishing you luck and trying to help you, and you just sending me out. You know, I am trying to do you a favor.

JACKIE: I see, but unlike you, I have to work. I'll see you at nutrition; you can do me a favor then.

DENISHA: (singsongs) It'll be too late by then.

Jackie turns from the tattered boxes, and they have an eye-to-eye moment.

JACKIE: What are you talking about?

DENISHA: Well, now, if you don't want my help.

Phone rings.

JACKIE: (Answers phone) Yes, Ms. Webster, I am on my way. (To Denisha) Can you not see my world right now? If you don't have something real...

DENISHA: Oh, it's real. The new girl, (she opens the outside of the snack box) she's not gonna make it.

JACKIE: More than 70% of you don't make it. Do better.

DENISHA: (she laughs) 70%? That's fucked up. OK.OK.OK. Angelina was with her on her first day, and when the new girl bent down to grab her stuff, Angelina saw her 'no pares' tattoo. She's initiated.

JACKIE: More than 70% of you are initiated. Dee, I have to go! I'll deal with this later. I still can't find the damn forms.

DENISHA: That's fine, but she won't be here at Nutrition. What does she look like? Not even 12, maybe? You all can try your boo boo hoo, but she ain't gonna play.

JACKIE: I don't understand. Lots of you have been initiated. You've told me yourself half of the girls were beaten into gangs before they were 12.

DENISHA: (she laughs) Ms. Dawes, you're not hearing me — "No Pares" tattooed right there with those signs?! She didn't get beat into nothing. 'No Pares" means 'don't stop' — she's property.

JACKIE: (finds the forms triumphantly but then registers what Dee is trying to tell her) FUCK.

DENISHA: I heard that sometimes they tattoo girls in front of the guys right before they do it, sometimes after it's done. Angelina says that tatt's still raw. She ain't gonna stay here, you'll see.

Jackie picks up the phone and calls the intake office.

JACKIE: Beth, how old is the new intake? (She listens.) OK, has she said anything yet? (Listens again.) OK, thank you.

DENISHA: See? I'm only here to help.

Diane, the lead Campus Supervisor, pops her head in.

DIANE: (resignedly) Ms. Webster is on the phone asking for help with Emmy. She's called us four times now. Do you want us to get her?

JACKIE: (To Diane) Oh my god, I'm sorry. No, tell her I'm coming right now. (To Denisha) I'm glad you came to see me. Now, get out.

DENISHA: This is some bullshit right here. (She slips a Little Debbie cake and a bag of Hot Cheetos under her arm.) Hmmm, alright, I'm gonna, but you know damn well that I will see you way before nutrition. (She slowly saunters out as she pleases) AND, if anyone gives me any bullshit, if they say just ONE thing that gets on my nerves — I'm a stab em in d'eye with my pencil.

JACKIE: OK, D, but that's a whole nother set of paperwork for me that I haven't found yet.

DENISHA: (Diane guides her a little as she is leaving with a smile.) That hurts Ms. Dawes. It really does.

Jackie runs back and grabs the forms she finally found but almost left behind.

End Scene

Three months ago, I was officially diagnosed with ADHD — combined type, both inattentive and hyperactive. The revelation has had me reeling through the years of extraordinary events in my life that were clearly impacted by my disorder. The story above is one of them.

The preceding is from my script/play entitled Placement. This story is inspired by actual events. Names and identities have been changed. In certain cases, incidents, characters, and timelines have been changed. Certain characters may be composites or entirely fictitious.

© Jackie Dawes, June 23, 2022

If you'd like to be notified when I publish something new, click here.

--

--

Jackie Rogers
ILLUMINATION

Teacher, writer, adhd survivor, Imposter …somewhere Ms. Kursman is laughing hysterically.