If You Were Mine

Ashley Malecha
ILLUMINATION
Published in
Aug 31, 2023

Poems from my Notes app

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

It’d be me,

instead of her

In love.

We’d walk the lake,

hand in mine.

Each song on the radio

a reminder of us.

I love you,

What you would’ve said

if you were mine.

I’d pick your outfits

and turn away a pair of khakis.

I won’t curse the roommates

that weren’t you,

counted the days

until you were mine.

I’d drown in the blue of your eyes.

I’d not dream of your stare

like gasping for air,

hanging onto every word I say.

I feel you,

your hand reassuring

on my leg.

I would hear my name

only the way you know.

Like my sister

who knew it first.

I love you.

What you would’ve said

if you were mine.

--

--

Ashley Malecha
ILLUMINATION

Ashley is a writer of stories, advice, poetry, and much more. A college graduate. And an occasional traveler.