Poem: Locked Door

Ishaaq
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readAug 16, 2023

I’m in a long corridor

Of misunderstanding

Because people seem to think

I don’t want to enter

Even though

I Shake the knob

And pull and push

I bang and knock

And scream for help

I try with all my might

And all my effort

Yet The door will not open

But people do not see

My grueling pain

They do not see

My want and desire

For they come and go

As they please

Because they seem to have

This mysterious key

It’s not in my possession

But I try and push through anyway

Until the door is stained with my blood

And my tears seeped into the floor

Because I love the outside

And want nothing less to

Be out and free

Feel the grass sweep across my feet

And the wind to blow across my skin

Yet people do not see

My effort and exhaustion

And sometimes I break it down

But I must always return to my prison

And still people do not see

They mistake the cants and the wonts

And my love for hate

For I truly want to break free

And I love them more than anything

But the door will not let me

And people do not see

Photo by Beth Macdonald on Unsplash

--

--