Poison Lilac

Gristy
ILLUMINATION
Published in
Apr 17, 2023

Poetry

Photo by Mike Lewis HeadSmart Media on Unsplash

We rocked back and forth,

pulling our faith from under a magician’s hat,

Your words stumbling out of your mouth,

Words unable to move across time,

they stained us and unlike normal stains,

bleach wouldn’t be the solution.

If it was easy to swipe left,

and tarnish all that we had,

over selfish desires,

were we heading for a freight train?

Or were sailing the rocky seas as a storm hits?

either way I’ve pondered if things happened this way,

because I was caged like a fox.

Or was my brutal honesty the poison in the well?

Did I perchance gamble with a roulette gun and lose?

All I know is what we had is gone now,

there is no saving it,

nor taking it back,

just memories sealed with poison lilacs.

--

--