Pole Dancing Made me a Better Person

Find your passion, find your confidence.

Mara Novi
ILLUMINATION
3 min readNov 2, 2023

--

Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

From a young age, I was always infatuated with dancing. Any kind of dancing, from contemporary to cheer. I always thought it was beautiful how the body could move in so many ways.

The older I got, the less options I felt I had. I was too old for a lot of the local dance studios near me.

I thought, maybe it’s time to look for something a little more. . . adult.

That’s when I found a pole dancing studio near me that was offering beginners classes. I was so excited about exploring another side of myself, but I didn’t want to do it alone. I invited multiple friends to go with me, after they showed interest in the classes too.

All of them had personal reasons not to go, which gave me an excuse to not go every time.

Before I knew it, a year had passed, and I was now living in a city 4 hours away from where I was living before. Since moving to the city, I realized I had two options. Try to make friends who would maybe go to the class with me eventually or go alone.

So, I went alone, and I was nervous.

The thing I didn’t realize about pole dancing is that everyone (in my own experience) was unbelievably nice. It was honestly the most supportive and kind group of people I had ever met. They hyped me up, even when all I could focus on was how I looked compared to them.

It was discouraging at first, not going to lie. They were much more physically fit and could do more moves than I could. I couldn’t even hold myself up on the pole.

But I pushed through. We were all there to learn, after all.

I’m so glad I chose to stay. It felt amazing to move my body in a way that accentuated my curves and helped me embrace my sensuality. It brought on a whole new level of confidence.

Well, it felt amazing in the moment. I got wore out pretty quick and I was sore the next day. But it was worth it!

I even slipped into some heels that they had for us to use. Turns out, it’s so much easier to dance in heels than you would think!

Here’s a newsflash: we all start somewhere. I was starting from the bottom with absolutely no experience in dance and no flexibility to my name.

But I did it. I continued to go, and I still frequent the studio in my free time.

Sometimes you just have to take the risk. It was one of the best decisions I could’ve made for myself to embrace all of my flaws and finally be comfortable in my own skin.

Having a way to express yourself creatively is important for us, as human beings. Weather it’s through painting, singing, or even cooking. Everyone needs an outlet. This just happened to be the outlet that I needed.

It’s empowering and it’s fun and if you’re considering taking a class at your local studio, this is your sign to do it. I promise, it’s not as scary as you think it is.

--

--

Mara Novi
ILLUMINATION

I’m just starting my journey and sharing my story. Dog and cat mom, spouse, writer.