How To Deal With Politics And The Blame Game

A useful approach to keep them accountable

Anthony M. Davis
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readOct 30, 2020

--

Outside view of the Capitol building.
Photo: Dennis Hiza from Pixabay

The blame game is an unfortunate part of our global and political behavior. It’s my opinion that pointing the finger at others began all the way back with the original sin.

From the bite of the first apple, Adam tried to blame God and Eve to cover his guilt. In Genesis 3:12, God questioned Adam, and the first blame flowed forth, “The woman YOU put here with me — SHE gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.

Our government, and most others in the world, institutionalized blame as the process of operation… or lack of it. Vice President Hubert H. Humphrey once said, “To err is human. To blame someone else is politics.

We have all blamed others for things that happened in our lives. It’s possible we still do. If someone mistreats us, we have a right to speak up.

We yield more benefits when we do good. In my own life, I’m the product of three attempts to kill me as a young child. I could have used those as my victim card, but God didn’t let me live to be a victim when I can experience victory.

While that sounds noble, I fully admit that I don’t always live in a state of…

--

--

Anthony M. Davis
ILLUMINATION

Leadership & Success Coach / Board Certified Therapist / Stress Coach / Top-100 Travel Photographer / Author / USN & USCG Veteran / www.anthonymdavis.com