Polymath Skills: Making an Art Youtube Channel

Jonathan Thomas
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readApr 26, 2021

--

I might as well try to do something that makes me happy— AfroPolymath

My Channel Banner from 2020

Oh yeah, it’s time to get serious about this anti-work journey by resuming all the creative projects I’ve been putting on hold. I’ve chosen content creation to be my escape vector from the indignities of racialized existence. While my coercion is set to end within two months, I’m putting my stolen time back to creative pursuits. Dealing with my mental health will also add to this difficulty.

I’ve already identified writing and drawing as my work. Sure, I’m not paid for it yet, but it makes me whole as a person. Creating has to be my work. For too long, I have been ignoring my work. I’ve allowed myself to be gaslit about how the world is supposed to work only to end up suffering.

The suffering stops today, and I begin my actual work. To create is to make myself whole and compel a record of the work I wish to bring into this world. I’ve already begun to keep this record by writing my posts and drawing pictures. It is only natural that I also add video making to my creative outlets.

For the last three years, I’ve been trying to make a Youtube channel. The channel’s goal was to track my art skills and improve with time.

--

--

Jonathan Thomas
ILLUMINATION

Conditional Human, writer who is afraid of writing, unwilling mercenary within the military-industrial-complex that is authoritarian, bourgeois-state-capitalism