Practice These 5 Morning Habits to Make Your Day Amazing

I used to say I wasn't a morning person, but maybe I just wasn't starting the day right.

Shea Hulse
ILLUMINATION

--

morning habits
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

No, I'm not out running at 5 AM, though who knows what the future will hold? For now, I'll settle for getting enough sleep at night and waking up at least a little bit before my kids.

I was never a morning person. No one in my family is. My grandparents don't even wake up until around 10 AM and go to sleep after midnight. We're all night owls, and for a long time, I worked late hours at a restaurant too.

But right before we had our kids, I started working as a manager of a hotel, specifically in charge of the coffee shop there, so that was when my early mornings started. And of course, then I had kids, and they started waking me up at the crack of dawn.

But I still didn't have a good routine. When I had to be at work at 6 AM, I woke up to the alarm (finally) at maybe 5:15 AM, rushed through a shower, a coffee, and makeup, and made it mostly on time. The longer I was at that job, the later I ended up being, but that's a different story.

Once I had my son, well, a lot of things happened. I returned to work briefly and was a pregnant with my daughter a month after they laid me off. Lots of family drama…

--

--

Shea Hulse
ILLUMINATION

Wife and mom of two. My books are steamy paranormal romances full of magic and mystery. I help entrepreneurial women do the same. Traveller. Dreamer. Free.